LandyReg

Series Land Rover Forum

new member here, with sooo.. many questions.

AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor
AutoShrine Sponsor

76SFIRE Avatar
76SFIRE JASON HOBBS
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada   CAN
Hey everyone,
I'm a new member to this forum.I have a 1965 series 2a. 88''
Although my rover is mobile,I've been grappling with a few things with the restoration.
Most recently, the wiring. My rover was modified with a v8 engine at some point,which I removed, and sourced an original 2.25.
Any part of the original wiring harness has been removed and patched over the years with an unrecognizable mess.
I have some experience with lucas wiring harnesses ,having a spitfire.
I've been considering using a mg midget or spitfire harness (considering they are much easier to find) on the land rover.
Has anyone tried an alternative wiring harness on there rigs? Besides an aftermarket EZ wiring type system.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <

Attachments:
20170619_080239.jpg    40.7 KB
20170619_080239.jpg

offshoretitan Avatar
offshoretitan Scott Edwards
Nashville, TN, USA   USA
Jason,

I, too, have a 1965 Series IIa 88". Great vehicle - you're in for some fun ahead. I would strongly encourage you to simply buy a new, Land Rover specification, wiring harness for your vehicle. They are readily available, for example here: http://www.britishwiring.com/Land-Rover-Series-2A-Main-Wiring-Harness-p/lr202pp.htm

Many other sources are out there also. Good luck with your Series!

Best regards,
Scott Edwards

76SFIRE Avatar
76SFIRE JASON HOBBS
Thanks Scott,
Looks like I'll have to bit the bullet,and order a new one.
I just happened to have a complete spitfire harness. My 2a is in
storage until may anyway.Winters are rough here. Even for Land rover.

. Hide banner ads & support this website by becoming a > Gold Supporting Member <
ray96disco Ray R
San Antonio, TX, USA   USA